top of page

How Do You Stay Motivated?

We're already a few months into school, and with over seven left to go, how do you stay motivated?

Search
  • Writer's picturePaige Kuhn

How Do You Stay Motivated?

We’re already a few months into school, and with over seven left to go, how do you stay motivated? We’ve all heard it’s important to set goals and keep a to-do list, and although those can be effective, as students, we tend to burn ourselves out by taking on a bunch of large projects (and homework); at that point, organizing our to-do lists just sounds like another insurmountable task. Here are some tricks you can use to stay motivated:


In order to complete tasks, Suzanne Gerber, Next Avenue and Forbes contributor, recommends writing down reasons why you want to get something done. Any time you start to feel unmotivated or sluggish, this list will remind you of why you began the project in the first place. Once you get in the habit of writing those reasons down, you’ll be able to make a list in your head, and stay motivated even without writing it down.


Suzanne Gerber also says you’ll be more motivated if you share your goals with others. Close friends and family can provide the extrinsic motivation you require when you find yourself lacking intrinsic motivation. If tasks get too overwhelming, those peers can also help you complete them. If you need to create a photography installation, maybe your family could find some picture frames for you to put your work in, or even help you clean up the paper clippings afterwards. Remember: there’s no shame in asking for help.


In Kettle Moraine School for Arts and Performance (KM Perform), many of us like to listen to music as we work. Although our tastes range across a multitude of genres, in my life, I’ve found that it’s easier to complete tasks when I listen to more upbeat, “happy” music. For example: I like to listen to 60s and 70s music. If I’m listening to “Shannon” by Henry Gross, a notoriously sad ballad, I tend to work less effectively because it brings my mood down, and I feel less excited to do my work. If I listen to “Lady” by Little River Band, a song I associate with happy childhood memories, I am more productive because it puts me in a better mood overall, which motivates me to get work done, and be happy about doing it.


Be sure to experiment with every single one of these methods, because you never know what may work for you until you try it. In KM Perform, especially as the first seminar series wraps up, it’s also important to remember to pick classes that interest you: not just classes that fit your credit needs. Now, find out how you stay motivated.


Image courtesy of Doug Dvorak

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Anchor 1
bottom of page